Skip to Content

Marshalltown School Board, superintendent earn major plaudits at IASB Annual Conference

Marshalltown School Board, superintendent earn major plaudits at IASB Annual Conference

All seven members of the Marshalltown CSD Board of Education, as well as Superintendent Dr. Theron Schutte, were recognized at the 2022 Iowa Association of School Boards (IASB) Annual Conference.

Each school board member – President Sean Heitmann, Vice President Sara Faltys, Karina Hernandez, Bonnie Lowry, Jan McGinnis, Leah Stanley and Zach Wahl – earned an IASB Individual Achievement Award for their dedication to their own professional learning through a combination of participating in formal in-service programs, board service, and experience.

In earning the individual awards, each board member has shown their sincere commitment to Bobcat students, staff, parents and our entire community.

On top of their individual plaudits, the Marshalltown School Board was one of only 15 boards statewide to earn a 2021-22 IASB Team Achievement Award, which recognizes the board’s support and encouragement for individual board member development.

Additionally, Superintendent Dr. Theron Schutte qualified for the 2021-22 Award of Honor in the Annual Board Awards program. He is one of just 17 superintendents and chief administrators statewide who will receive that award this year.

Montes-Melendez speaks at the 2022 IASB Conference

The Bobcats were further represented at this year’s IASB Annual Convention by Class of 2022 MHS alumna Andrea Montes-Melendez, who presented her state-recognized speech “The Mountain We Climb” at the Delegate Assembly on Wednesday, Nov. 16. As usual, Montez-Melendez was outstanding and was given a standing ovation at the conclusion of her speech.

Three of this year’s four Student School Board Representatives – Natalie Andrade, Abraham Madrigal Farias and Jaxson Eisenbarth – also enjoyed attending the Annual Conference.

Congratulations to the Marshalltown School Board and Superintendent Dr. Theron Schutte for being recognized as statewide school district leaders!

Student School Board Representatives Abraham Madrigal Farias (left), Jaxson Eisenbarth (second from left) and Natalie Andrade (right) are pictured with Iowa Association of School Board’s Keynote Speaker Dr. Adolph Brown (second from right) at the IASB Annual Conference in Des Moines.